A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

The given argument has reached a conclusion which asks the city government to devote more money to the recreational activities of the Mason River. There are various unstated facts in this argument which should be analyzed without reaching such a conclusion in a hurry.

To begin with, the term "surveys" is mentioned vaguely, the time, year, number of people participated, age group of people, none of this is mentioned. For all we know, this could be a survey of only 10 people amongst the whole citizens. So accepting the author's assumption of water sports being the favourite recreational activities of all the residents can be refuted.

Later, the author mentions that Mason River is rarely used for water sports and city department doesn't devote enough money for the same. Here, the author assumes that the Mason River is completely suitable for water sports to carry out. He is not taking into consideration the depth of the river, the condition of the water bed, or the presence of dangerous sea animals like crocodiles in the river. If anyone of the mentioned is true, even if the government devotes money for these recreational activities, it's going to be in vain because such conditions will put the lives of the residents in jeopardy which no one wishes to happen.

Moving forward, the author mentions the complaints from residents about the quality of river water and its smell for years. Here the author assumes, that the complains are being made by the citizens to clean the river and start water sports activities. For all we know, this could be a general complaint to maintain a hygienic environment. Relating the cleaning of the river, with an expectation of increasing water sports activities is illogical.

Finally, I would like to state that, the author should go about the facts and actual conditions and feasibility of the river to carry out water sports, take a complete and detailed genuine survey of all the residents and then present his proposal to the government with facts and figures and a plan. Expecting the government to devote money without having detail information will lead to loss of national funds as well as time and efforts of the people who will work for this to carry out.