A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that the living of children living in suburban region of United States and the children living in Himalayan region of Nepal is same, rendering its conclusion, that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument is based is on the unjustified assumption that the livelihood of children in Himalayan is similar to those in States. It might be possible that the children living in Himalayan due to living in mountain region does not have access to junk food or candies or even they have access to junk food or candies or their lifestyle is different and they do not eat much candies while the children living in suburban areas of States eat a lot of junk foods and candies as they have easy access to candies. It might also be possible that the dental hygine routine of children living in Himalayan is far better than then those living in States.

The argument would have be more convincing if the author have provided more information about the livelihood of the children of two areas. Even then the author have to further prove and provide more information that how he can say that people living in Nepal does not receive little to no professional dental care.

The data also lack the depth of information which is required to access the results of the study. How the study has taken out? how many people were involved in the survey? Wheather the survey involve enough participants to represent general population? all this information is important to access the result of the study. Alternatively, it might be possible that people of Himalayan receive dental care but very few of them were surveyed or the children of States have similar level of tooth decay but few people were surveyed out of which large portion have higher level of tooth decay.

Because the argument is based on multiple unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.