A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument seems fallacious for various reasons, it assumes that the conditions in Nepal will be similar to that of the United States, the percentage of the children with tooth decay is assumed to be commensurate with the number of tooth decays in both the areas, the authenticity of the study is not stated and the author also assumes that the number of dentist visits is tantamount to the tooth decay rate.

The study indicates that the children in the Himalayan mountain region of Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay and that children of the United States have higher levels of tooth decay. This cannot be the base for the stated conclusion as the conditions and the food habits of the two places are very different, regular dental care may not be the reason for this difference in the levels of tooth decay. The fluoride content in the water of the United States may be higher than that of the Himalayan region of Nepal which is most likely the cause for this higher levels of tooth decay in the former or the food consumed by the majority of the children in the United States may have high sugar content as compared to that of the children of the Nepal region which is causing more tooth decays in the former region. Hence, the author's claim that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay will be fallacious in this case as there is a probability that the regular dental care is mitigating the tooth decay caused by the reasons stated above.

The argument states that the tooth decay is high in the United States but the percentage of the tooth decay is not stated. If the percentage of the tooth decay in the United States is lower than that of the Himalayan region of Nepal then this repudiates the author's claim that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument completely relies on a study but the validity of the study is not certain. It is not certain if the study considered the entire population in the two areas or it used the right factors to reach this conclusion. If one or more of these factors is not considered then the conclusion of the study may not be accurate. Hence, the authenticity of the study is also vital in determining the validity of the argument.

The argument also assumes that the number of dentist visits is commensurate with the tooth decay rate but it fails to consider the fact that most people can visit a dentist as a precautionary measure, which means they can visit a dentist just to prevent any complications in the future.

Hence, the above stated points can rival the proposed explanation.