A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The given argument implies that the regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay in suburban areas of the United States.The author of the passage has provided unsubstantiated series of argument to support his assertion. However, this conclusion is indefensible in nature and therefore requires more evidence to bolster this argument.

The author has provided the study that indicates that the children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children in suburban are in the US. There are no statistics have been provided to replicate this argument. If the sample of the study was too little or not random then the studies may influence the final results. For example, if the study made on ten to fifteen children then we cannot rely on it as it doesn't mirror the whole community. There is the possibilities that the children in Nepal have also tooth decay problems similar to children in US. Therefore, without knowing any details about the study, we cannot rely on its conclusion.

The author has added the fact that the people in Himalayan mountain in Nepal receive little or no professional dental care where people in suburban area in the US see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. However, the author assumed that the people who visits dentist are actually have problems. If people in suburban ares have been provided free regular dental care then why people won't avail it and get their teeth check. In this case, the fact of visiting dentist per year doesn't reflect actual figures of people who are facing tooth decay problems.

Also, the author didn't mention any details about the people in suburban area who visits dentist. What if the large portion of the visitors are old-aged people but not the children. After some age, it is very normal that people gets tooth decay problems and loosing their teeth too. Therefore, It is possible that the regular dental care actually helped people in US in taking care of their teeth. If above possibilities are true then making conclusion that the regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay would be wrong.

Another point the author has missed to look into is that the environmental conditions of both places. In Nepal, people are living with nature and eating healthy food in compare to people in suburban in the US. In US people and children may have a habit of eating unhealthy and do not take care of their teeth after eating such food. Where in Nepal, people are aware of taking care of their teeth then it is possible that the despite no professional dental care, people in Nepal have better teeth then people in the US.

All in all, the argument is not convincing even after supported statements. The author must look deeper before suggesting that the regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.