A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The presented argument talks about the phenomenon of tooth decay among children of Himalayan mountain region in Nepal and suburban areas in the United States and relates it to regular dental care. In the very first glance, the explanation seems genuine and correct but on further analysis, it seems to be incomplete as other possible explanation may also support the recorded observation.

Firstly, we need to take into account that the quality and composition of drinking water that the two groups use might be and possibly, should be dissimilar. The drinking water in Himalayan regions might be having high calcium content which helps in strengthening bone and teeth. On the other hand the suburban regions of US might be having some chemicals which reduces the strength of teeth, gradually leading to weakening of the teeth and thus resulting in tooth decay.

Secondly, the food habits can be a deciding factor for tooth decay. Diet consisting of a majority of junk food, which is a common issue in US might be the major reason behind poor teeth quality. In contrast the children of Nepal might be consuming healthy food habits, thus leading to better teeth quality. In fact, this reason, if true, can greatly weaken the inference of the author.

Thirdly, dental care can help in preventing tooth decay and can not reverse the process of tooth decay. Tooth are not like muscles tissues which can repair itself. So even a short exposure to diet full of junk food can lead to decay of tooth which even after going to a dentist can at most be replaced by artificial tooth or artificial tooth caps.

Thus in conclusion, the given argument seems logical but need to be further researched before drawing out a conclusion. The above mentioned factors need to be incorporated in the study.