"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The reason for decline in the current format has been accounted to the large percentage of retired listeners in the area who do not have much interest in the current existent pattern. The company has decided to tailor it’s pattern in accordance with the tastes of the listeners in the area. However, changing the pattern altogether in terms of news and talk format is not a feasible option. This is because the source of “local sales” the owners are depending on has loopholes that have not been considered by the author. It is said that a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. However,the reasons for this suggested decline in sales have not been mentioned.

Firstly, it is not necessary that the type of recorded sales in the market is of interest to the retired listeners.There are chances that the recorded music of only rock –band format is available in the market. This sort of music often fails to attract the middle-aged and retired listeners who seek music type of their genres for relaxation and peace of mind.

Secondly, there is a possibility that people enjoy listening to music only once when it is being played over radio and are least interested in investing money and energy to buy such recorded music permanently. This nevertheless does not prove their lack of interest in music. This does not substantiate to prove that the format should be changed altogether.

Hence , local sales of music and enjoyment of listeners over the radio are two different domains and should not be compared so as to draw inferences on the subject of tastes of the listeners.

Lastly there is no evidence to bolster the argument that news and talk format solely are more popular in comparison to the music based format.It is a possibility that after a while the listeners will get bored of the monotonous format that gives them no change or entertainment. Instead both should be given equal importance to keep the listeners tuned.

Hence the owners should consider all the factors before taking the final decision.