"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

the author recommends changing the format from rock-music format to news-and-talk format. The reasoning of the author is in the line that, music listeners are declining in the area whereas the population of the area is increasing. The author suggests changing the format of the music station, in order to make the radio station popular. there are several flaws in the argument.

Firstly, the author states that, the new population moving to the area is mostly retired people and that they have the least interest in music therefore, several local stores are closed recently. this argument is not convincing as there can several other reasons because of which the music shops could have been closed. For example, nowadays, people are accustomed to listening to music through their phones as numerous online music libraries are available today which are of low cost and readily available. The author fails to consider any such scenario, neither he is has provided any evidence to support his assumption.

secondly, the author assumes that since most of the new population are retire people so, they will love the news-and-talk show format. this assumption is dubious, the author could states proper evidence in to support his argument. For instance, he could have conducted an survey and will the results of the survey, he could have provided proper reasons for suggesting the format-change rather than the changing to another music. With is argument, there is no surety that after changing the format of the show will be cent percent hit.

Lastly, the author suggests to change the format of the show to news-and-talk format, but doing this author does not consider current listeners. there are not points to support if the current listeners are also going to like the particular show. The author needs to provide answers if the current listener will continue listening to the show or not. if not then show is a flop.

In sum, the argument made by the author for suggesting a change for show format is not convincing. he needs to keep in check a number of questions in order to make his argument strong, like if the new population likes new-and-talk show if the current listeners will like it or not.