"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that changing current music radio program with a news and talk format, ensured by the continuous decline trend of rock-music listener as well as decreasing local sales of recorded music, will lead to increase the relevant program listener may seem logical at first glance. However the writer’s assumption provides with evidence that would weaken the conclusion due to lack of supportive information.

First of all, the writer asserts that we could switch to a music format compatible to the new group of retired people but due to reducing of the local sales of recorded music this would not be a profitable idea. This is one of the evidence that would weaken the writer’s conclusion. Diminishing in the number of people who are not interested in listening to music by buying the CD or recorded track has nothing to do with decline of enthusiasm in hearing it through broadcasting medium specially radio. There are ample type of people that pursue music by hearing them on radio or even experience it in a live concert.

Furthermore, another piece of evidence that could weaken the writer’s conclusion is sudden replacement of news and talk format program with the music one. There is no evidence demonstrating that increased population in the listening area would be enthusiastic in such new program. getting in touch with a program which is broadcasted on radio would take time to find its own followers and fans. Hence, the writer should have presented statistics stating the tendency of both retired and the previous listeners to this type of program.

In conclusion, the writer’s assumption relies on some evidence that would weaken the conclusion if they were not fully defined with supportive information as following; clarifying the correlation between the decreased of local sale music and number of radio listeners as well as data stating the gusto of resident to the news and talk programs.