To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The author has cited some facts and come to the conclusion that the existing dormitory space is inadequate for future prospective students and thus, the college administration should build a number of new dormitories to serve the housing needs of new students. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumption and hence, not strong enough to support the preceded conclusion.

First of all, the author's conclusion is based on a questionable assumption that the prospective students will indubitably be willing to look up to the campus dormitories for use. However, it is possible that despite the increased rent charges, students may prefer to live in the apartments off campus. During college life students usually prefer to live independently so, they may opt not to live under a set of rules encompassed by the college dormitories. Also, students may decide to share apartments in order to minimize the burden of increased off-campus housing charge.

Additionally, the author predicts that the campus's enrollment will double over the next fifty years without any substantial evidence. Besides the current trends, many other factors may come into play to determine the campus's enrollment rate over the 50 years. For example, a new campus with better programs and placements may open up closer to the Buckingham college and attract prospective students, or there may be a general downturn in the number of students attending college in the future among many others. Building up new dormitories for an uncertain future requirements does not seem justifiable. Similarly, for all we know, the property value of houses in the town may go down and the average rent for apartment may decrease in the future making those reasonably affordable to the students. They may even end up becoming cheaper than the college dormitories resulting in marked outflow of students. Furthermore, the assertion that attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham seems unfounded. Students may prioritize better courses, academic environment, and qualified faculty over attractive dormitories.

Finally, the author has failed to address the financial and practical aspects entailing the project in the argument. For example, the cost that the college is likely to incur in the establishment and maintenance of new dormitories, the infrastructures to be built and the facilities to be provided to attract the students and so on. A detailed analysis of these aspects may be required to make a sound decision by the college administration.

To recapitulate, it is clear that there are still some unexplored avenues in the argument due to which the conclusion seems feeble. It would be wise to address those issues prior to setting any firm conclusion on the matter.