Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever.

The author of argument recommends that the 24-hour news program instead of the rock-and-roll music program in the KNOW radio will attract more listeners. This recommendation cannot be accepted as it stands; it rests on the series of surmises for the support of which some vital questions are to be answered.

The first problem with the argument is that the author assumed a link between the increased number of the senior citizens over the fifty years old and declined the number of the listener. However, it is a vague assumption, a list of question should have been addressed till fortifies the accuracy of this link. The first question comes to mind at first glance is that what is the total demographic statistic? Is there a sole increase in the number of elder people or there is a huge migration from the other city which includes wide-range of people with the various age? If there is an increase in all ranges of the age, and the category of youth age covers nearly fifty percent of the migration, the radio has more young listener than before. Besides, even the increment includes lonely the elder people; it does not convince that the main reason of the declined listeners is the seniors. The second question which should be answered is that, is there any survey to illustrate the listeners do not like the rock-and-roll programs in radio? Maybe the people do like the rock-and-roll music, but the program plays the old ones which are repetitive and make the listener reluctance toward the radio's program.

The next issue with the argument is that the author asserts that based on the report by the music stores in the KNOW radio's area, the people purchase the rock-and-roll records fewer than the past; therefore, the rock-and-roll music does not fit with the people's taste. The problem which should have to address accurately to strengthened the argument is that is there any alternative source to buy or listen the rock-and-roll music apart from the local music stores? In a case which people can easily buy or listen their desired music from the internet, there is no requirement for the music stores. Or if there is a new and attractive music program on the TV or radio which competes with the music stores and persuades the people to listen to its rock-and-roll music instead of the buying them from the stores. Each scenario would present an alternative possibility for the decrement of rock-and-roll music sale apart from the assumed factor.

Finally, the writer predicts that the shift from the rock-and-roll program to the 24-hour news program will be appealing and profitable. Actually, this predication is dangling, and the author leaves the lots of unanswered questions. For example, what leads the writer thinks the news program is a favorite program for the senior citizens? Even in a case which the majority of the listeners are elders, it does not mean that they like the news program. Maybe they prefer to listen to the light music or a narration which differ entirely from the news program. In addition, if the people prefer the 24-news program, there is no obvious clue that this type of the program is beneficial financially since the commercial shows and advertisement advocate the program. If the writer had responded that the local businesses are willing to adherence the 24-news program, the argument would have been fortified.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons mentioned above and is, therefore, unpersuasive.