The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

A petition was sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group regarding the issue that Smith corporation should not be permitted to develop a land which is the part of wildlife. The opponents have come to this conclusion based on assumptions that the survival of the species will be endangered. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated the petition should answer the following questions.

Firstly, the author of the petition claims that the survival of 300 bird species are essential and it is entirely true in my opinion but what if these 300 bird species can be supplanted to other sanctuary which is in the vicinity of this area? These 300 species can be easily preserved in any other sanctuary. The above point makes the author's claim bogus and based on one-sided unstated assumptions without an understanding. Hence, more evidence is required to support the author's claim.

Additionally, the author prompts giving a small land to build a hotel will have disastrous consequences for their area. There might be a possibility that after building a hotel the valuation of that area increased exponentially and also the corporation as given their word to preserve the sanctuary and a gentle businessman will never go back on his word as his word might have an utmost significance in the society. Hence, without proper evidence and strong viewpoints author's prompt is weakened and more desired viewpoints are needed to evaluate it else the claim remains skeptical.

Further, the author asserts that the sale will not be beneficial for the community. What if the tourist began to visit more than ever to the area after over hearing the sophisticated and well-developed hotel which enlightens the area by its elegant architecture? This will bolster the sale and benefit more to the community. There might be a possibility that because tourist visits the hotel they also went to explore the sanctuary which serves as a cherry on a cake for the community. Hence, the author's assertion is weakened if above scenario happens to occur.

To recapitulate, the above arguments are based on unwarranted and unjustified assumptions. The author needs more empirical evidence to prove his viewpoints without that the prompt remains skeptical. However, if the author is able to answer the above questions then it is viable to prohibit the smith's corporation to develop a land in that area.