Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states the adoption of interview centered approach in order to obtain the correct information about the rearing of Tertian child since observation centered approach proved to be invalid. It cites the evidences obtained recently by Dr. Karp who adopted interview approach and found in his study that, children spoke about their biological parents more than any of other adults in the village. However, before the argument goes under examination for authenticity, certain questions must be answered since as of now it is lacking in depth on several unverified assumptions.

First of all, are group of islands comparable to Tertia? In other words, Dr. Karp has assumed that the results obtained recently from the study of group of islands and results obtained by Dr. Field, 20 years ago in Tertia Island are comparable and have some common base for comparison. Though, it may not be the case. Since, it may be found that in the study of group of island, Tertia holds insignificant proportion, therefore, what has been found as a result is actually valid for islands except for Tertia. Further, Dr. Karp has also assumed that what has been answered in interview approach was also observed in observation approach. Though, it may be the case that observation covered whole island of Tertia but interview covered only meagre part of Tertia, thus, results are maintainable for group of islands but not for Tertia. Therefore, if any of the above hypothesis were true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are current period of evaluation and 20 years ago comparable? In other words, Dr. Karp has assumed that what he has obtained through interview recently was obtained in observation 20 years ago. Though it may not be the case. Since, 20 years ago might have brought in significant change in terms of movement of people from other islands to Tertia or vice-versa, thus, interview results may focus on current population which might have not originated in Tertia. Further, this 20 year period may have brought in economic reforms in group of Islands which mixed the culture so convolutedly that it is now difficult to distinguish the native Tertian from other children. Thus, interview may have come to conclusion on the basis of study on non-native Tertian children. If any of the above examples hold merit, then the argument does not hold the water.

Thirdly, are subject of observation and subject of interview same? In other words. Dr. Karp has assumed that what Dr. Field has observed 20 years ago was covered in his interview recently. Though it may not be the case. Since, it may find that Dr. Field has observed children during particular time or particular occasion where it was a custom for the children to celebrate the contributions of other adults in their life, thus, he found significant mention of other people in their talks. Further, what Dr. Karp has obtained by adopting interview may be because of questions were designed in such a manner that required speaking about biological parents such as occupation about the parents, their socio-economic background, but the questions had not covered any area related to the other adults in the village. Therefore, the results of interview and observation is not comparable because of the difference in subject being studied. Hence, unless the recommendation is fully representative, it cannot be used to support the argument.

While concluding, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If Dr. Karp is able to offer more answers, perhaps in the form of research study covering changes in the last 20 years in Tertia Island, composition of group of Islands in the study and movement of people across Islands, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.