Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendatio

The author argument about researchs made in the island of Tertia, which tried to understand some children’s behaviors. The argument isn’t reasonable, because the author didn’t give solid information about Dr. Field and Dr. Karp researches and that make impossible to accept some assumptions from the text. In addition, the author didn’t explain reasonably why Dr. Karp could refutate Dr. Field conclusions.

First of all, twenty years ago Dr. Field concluded that children in Tertia were reared by the village despite from their own parents using an observation-centered approach to study it. But the author of the argument don’t give any reason to consider the method of study used in the research efective. Additionally, considering that the method were efective and produced results, how Dr. Field reached his conclusion? It’s not possible only by observation concluded that Tertia’s children were reared only by the people from village. This apparently behavior could be necessary because the parentes could be at work, in the moment of the research, but it don’t implies that the parentes weren’t present in their childrens care and education. Furthermore the group that he studied could had this behavior, but in others locations this could be different.

Secondly, Dr. Karp conducted another research in the village, based on the interview-centered method. Again, the author fail in explain the efectiveness of the method, and leaves gaps to the reader to question his results. The autor don’t explain how Dr. Karp reached his results, with what kind of interview and questions. So, his conclusions are whole refutable.

Considering that the results of Dr. Karp were trustly, it was not enough to refute Dr. Field conclusions. The fact that the children talk more about their parents isn’t reasonable, on the contrary, this could show that the children miss their parents, consenquently they talk to much about they.

Summarazing, the text have clearly some gaps, that turns it inconscistent. The author could provide more information about the researches methods to valuate it and turns it reasonable. Additionaly could be provided best arguments to explain the research conclusions.