Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The stated argument appears to be relatively sound at the first glance. However, as more light is thrown on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from several grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy. The reasons could be many in number and it is detailed in the following paragraphs.

The argument predicts that the recent success with call - in programming of the radio station WCQP is attributed to the change made in increasing the number of call in programs that it broadcast 2 years back. In addition to the above statement, it is mentioned that , at that time, it's share of radio audiences in the Rockville listening area had significantly increased.

Two facts can be stated which proves that the given information is inadequate and that it is logically irrelevant. first, success was noted only after 2 years, which is a long period and hence the entire scenario could have changed. so the success could have been due to any other reason taken place during that time. Or if it was due to the same reason, then this might have been a coincidence. Secondly, there is no proper percentage of increase mentioned with regards to the radio audience. By what percentile has the number increased? was there a drastic difference? These questions remain unanswered.

A mention about the nationwide survey is cited without any details about the survey. if the survey was at the national level, then there should be a clear-cut information on the mode and number of people who took part in the survey . there could be a possibility that a participant who was not an ardent listener of radio could have taken part in the survey. if that number was huge, then the information related to the survey could have been false.

Based on the above judgements, it is stated that KICK in Medway is likely to introduce the same program. Often, people's mindset change. A person interested in a particular program offered by a radio station need not be interested in the same type of program broadcasted by another radio station. so, it is heedless to say that a larger audience will be gained. success which may be applicable to one, need not imply for the other. By taking the mentioned step may not yield fruitful results unless practically adopted and analyzed, since nobody knows how much it could reach out to the public.

With the advent of latest technologies and humans being inclined to social networking sites, it is plausible that the number of radio listeners might not have increased.The fact that the details about the year in which the author noted the given argument might add-on to accepting or rejecting it. this view surely undermines the facts given in the argument.

To conclude, it can be stated that, success is attributed to various causes. With just a single cause, it is wrong to adopt a method full-fledged, which weakens the given argument. without proof, the author has decided that gaining a larger audience is possible by including more call in programs.