Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the

number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its

share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased

significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice

programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio

listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of

KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice

programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be

answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have

the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions

would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that in order to increase the number of their listeners, they should increase their call-in advice programs. He uses the nationwide survey and the similar experience that WCQP in Rockville has had. To examine whether this recommendation has its reasonable predicted results, the manger should answer to some pointed questions.

First, the manger considers a nationwide survey in his prediction about succeeding in gaining the large number of audience share. What is exactly this survey about? How many people have contributed to this survey and what was their age range? Without answering to these questions, he could not reach to a solid conclusion. If just a sample consists of few people contributed to this survey, it does not necessarily show opinions of the whole population. It’s possible that the survey is mainly about other aspects of the call-in advice programs instead of showing its popularity.

Another factor that the manger uses in his recommendation is the experience that WCQP had in Rockville. Is Rockville’s demographics the same as Medway’s? It’s likely that the residents of Rockville are mostly retired people who have much more time to listen to the call-in advice programs or there are people who need to listen to these kind of broadcasting programs. If the manger does not have a clear comparision between these two areas, he might fail in his recommendation.

Something very momentous to be considered is the time. Are the circumstances in two years ago, in society, the same as now? WCQP in Rockville succeeded in gaining the large number of listeners share in two years ago. Passage of time can alter every aspects of lives. If economy is improved now, it’s plausible that most of the group of people are occupied with their jobs and lives and they don’t have enough time to spend listening to call-in advice programs.

All in all, the station manager of KICK in Medway cannot recommend the same procedure as what has been done in Rockville, for Kick. After answering to several important questions, he will be able to consider a logical and practical solution for gaining the large number of audience share in listening area.