The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

In the following recommendation to the company’s president, the vice president of the resources at Climpson industries have proposed to implement electronic monitoring of the employees to improve the company’s productivity and overall profits. The vice president has come to this conclusion based on the issues faced by the company’s that the employees are using internet from their workstation for their personal and recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

Firstly, does the installing software detect employees perfectly? It is possible that software can produce flawed data, or it can be hacked. As the modern technology improved gradually, people use computer in their daily life and more or less all user known about hacking. And in it sector it could be very easy for them to find hole in the installed software and hacked it. Nonetheless, software not always give accurate data every time just because it was also made by another developer and there was always a possibility that it has some errors. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the vice president assuming that employees are only waste their time by using internet. However, this might not be the case. There are plenty of options for the employees to waste their time without using workstation internet, such as gossiping with other employees, using their personal smartphone internet for their personal and recreational activities and taking many more break between their work. In an ideal world, they might choose from any of these options rather than using the office internet to waste time. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two question above and offer more evidence ( perhaps in the form of a systematic research study ), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to implement electronic monitoring of the employees to improve the company’s productivity and overall profits.