When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memo which appeared at XYZ company, the author strongly condemns the proposal of using less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany as Delany is a far better Firm then the Walsh. He backs his statement by recalling something that happened 8 years ago when XYZ used Walsh, only half of the employees were able to find jobs. He further advocates his statement by assuming that since Deley has a bigger staff and larger number of branch office it is clearly superior and since clients of Delany's took only six months to find a job compared to 9 months of its counterpart. However, to make his argument strong he still needs some evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that what happened 8 years ago would repeat itself. It might be the case that Walsh as a firm was still establishing itself eight years ago and since then have made substantial progress in the market as eight years is a long time. It is also possible that eight years ago was a time of recession and job opportunity was significantly reduced. To make his argument stronger the author needs to provide evidence that Walsh was an equally big company and statistical data of the job availability eight years ago. Without this evidence, the author doesn't sound pursuing.

Furthermore, the assumption that just because Delany has more employees and a larger number of branch offices is better than Walsh. This assumption is unwarranted as no evidence is provided to support it. The author needs to provide statistical data about the number of employees in the company and even if Delany has more employees it doesn't mean that they provide better services. The author needs to provide customer reviews of both the companies to further advocate his assumption. The argument doesn't hold without the above evidence.

Finally, the author's assumption that Delany's client took only six months to find a job, whereas Walsh's clients took nine imply's Delany is superior is completely flawed as no evidence advocates it. For instance, it might be possible that Walsh tries to find it's clients the job they desire and also the best paying whereas Delany persuades his client's to take the first offer they receive. If the above is true it is understandable why average Walsh's client takes more time to find a job. The author needs to provide statistical data about the average salary clients of both the company get and also a survey about the client's satisfaction with the firm to make his argument strong.

Concluding, the argument to deter his company from opting Walsh is flimsy and unconvincing as it relies a lot on unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide statistical data and report of the survey's from authentic sources about the above-discussed points to make his argument sound more pursuing. However, as it stands the argument is flawed and fails to advocate the claims.