While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The author concludes that there is no more need of assigning homework to school students more than twice a week. The author made this conclusion based on the survey conducted in the two districts of state and by comparing their grades. As, only on the basis of a normal survey one cannot made this statement. Which leads to fallacious argument of the author due to following reasons;

Firstly, the author has made this assumption on the basis of the survey carried in two states, Sanlee and marlee. However, at the first sight the survey seems to support the argument, but really not because in the argument number of the students on which survey is conducted was not given. Moreover, the category of the students on which survey was conducted also not provided whether the selected students were seniors or juniors. And the main difference that might occur is status of the schools of the both states, as more developed the school is more will be the advancement in learning methods of the students.

Secondly, the author said that In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the overall performance of the students of district Marlee was more. This was totally a fatuous ststement as the result of the students not merely depend on the amount of homework assigned to them,but also on their surrounding environment , the way in which they were taught, etc.

Lastly, but not the least the method of studying of the students was not provided. And in the argument it was not provided about the subject on which survey was conducted for example some subjects like maths require more practice while others like english needs less. Therfore by just merely on the basis of survey provided one cannot say that less homework should be assigned to students.

In the sum the authors argument was based on the totally falacious premises. To prove the argument more data is need to be provide like the number of students on which survey was conducted, level of the students etc.