11. Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The author argues that governments should address current issues in advance rather than future problems. While it is plausible in some cases, it may not always be the case.

Admittedly, immediate problems are more important than future ones because it can threaten the stability of the society. Any outbreak of epidemic diseases such as the SARS and Ebola virus can seriously risk people's lives. However, thanks to the appropriate governmental effort with medical support, the recent outbreak of Ebola virus has been controlled successfully saving thousands of lives. Accordingly, focusing on solving immediate problems is more reasonable.

Nevertheless, future problems cannot be overlooked by governments because they can grow into serious problems if not dealt with. For instance, the recent global warming and sea level rise warn of potential disasters to our environment. Thus, to prevent the society from occurring the disasters in future, countries ratify Kyoto Protocol and commit to reducing the emission of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases.

Furthermore, future problems and current problems are not mutually exclusive. Both are closely intertwined. For instance, Human Genome project completed to decode all genes in human body, which enables the progress of medicine and other health science to solve current unknown human diseases. However, this project also raises serious possible ethical issues; people with genetic problems could be discriminated by employer. Thus, government should consider both problems at the same time.