An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition

The statement mainly contends that the patient should have easy access to the doctor's records who has been treating the patient and who has treated another similarly afflicted patients. This helps the patient to understand that whether the doctor is liable to treat him or not.

When the patient is able to access the records of the doctor he get a rough idea about how well the doctor is in treating similarly afflicted patients like him. This helps the patient to get known that he has not come to any wrong doctor for his treatment. As of today there many of the scandals caught of fake degrees of the doctor, so this will prevent the patient from getting trapped in such kind of fake doctors. As of sometimes there may also be possibility that the doctor may not be much expert in treating the disease the patient has got. So by checking the records of other patients, the patient can get come to know that whether the doctor is expert in treating the disease the patient has got or not.

Sometimes there are possibilities that the doctor may not be knowing much about disease and it may be a new case for the doctor, so by checking the records the patient can get come to know about how much patients the doctor has treated with such kind of disease. As sometimes the greedy doctors give the random treatment to the patient for money. So with the help of track records one can remain safe from such kind of doctors.

But there are also some other consequences to this as sometimes it may be possible that the patient's take the wrong advantage for their access to the doctor's track records by giving the information about the doctor to other doctors. Patient should have excess to some extent such that it does not hinder the self-respect of the doctors. Sometimes there are such kind of patients who keeps on telling that what the doctor should do or not do on the basis of track records which should be restricted. However positive effect of allowing the patient to watch the track records completely overcomes the above negative impacts.

In conclusion the patient should be allowed to watch the track records of the doctor but only of that patient who had the same kind of disease. As it will not hinder the privacy of the doctor and also does not allow the patient to do any kind of wrong thing. This will result in a fruitful effect both for doctors as well as patients as the patients can gain the knowledge about the record of the doctor and as if the doctor would be having good track record the patient will recommend to other patients about that doctor which will be beneficiary for the doctor.