An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The author contends that an ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarity afflicted patients. I agree with the author's point and reason. As author stated easy access will definitely help the patients to determine whether doctor is good for him/her.

First of all, As author stated doctor's record of treatment should be easily available to the patient, These data will help patient, How? Data is one of the factor on which patient can trust. Data provide more accurate information of doctor's experties than bomabstic talk of hospital. What these data should contain? Data which shows the information of patient condition from starting to end and which treatment was offered by doctor, How much time it took etcetera. These data should not contain the name of patient so privacy of patients would remain safe.

Additionally, Take an example of cancer patient who is belong to middle class family. Now, treatment of cancer is vary expensive, middle class family could not take a risk of choosing any doctor on the basis of advertisement or information from any random source. They need proper data and recored history of the doctor which will help them to choose which doctor they can trust. These way seems better for even any patient. But now consider if these kind of record is not available then if doctors fail to improve the situation of patient and make it even worsen, definitely family has to look for another doctor which will cost patient more. Who wants to spend more money? Obvious, No-one. That is why it is requird that patient should have knowledge of doctor's previous records.

On the other hand, If the young doctor is talented, But he/she do not have such a record then patient would not easily trust him/her. Which eventually create one type of monopoly in which only old and experienced doctors get benifit, adn there would be no entry for young and talented doctors.

In sum, There is no doubt that ailing patient should have easy access to his/her doctor's previous records of same diseases, as patient is risking his/her life and even spending good amount of money.