To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

A leader is chosen by the people for effective administration. This leader could have a minimal role as a government official or a chief minister of a state to the president or prime minister of a country. Whatever may be the role into which a leader fits in, his responsibilities towards an individual is the same. A public official is appointed to serve the common needs of the citizens and hence, it is very much essential for him to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Most often, a leader is looked upon as a role model in the same way as a child who learns the basic qualities from his parents. As a result of which, an effective leader should not spoil his name under corruption - one of the grave issues prevailing in the entire world. He should strive hard to abolish such an evil from the whole society as such. For instance, India’s prime minister brought forth demonetization two years back in order to eradicate black currencies and fake notes. Even though middle class and poor people struggled due to standing in long queues in order to get money from the bank, the new system completely eradicated the usage of illegal money. such steps could be taken by a person who foresees a better nation devoid of corruption.

Moreover, a great leader has the responsibility to accomplish the needs of the people by knowing their concerns. it could be evident only through actions and not by words. For example, a public official should visit a calamity struck city in order to understand the real scenario of the aftermath of flood or earthquake. Just sitting in the office and providing relief funds would not solve the problem. only a good ruler would visit the people, get to know their sufferings and comfort them. According to the saying, “Action speaks louder than words”, we can judge an official only through his interactions with the citizens of his nation on a one to one basis.

Nevertheless, there are incidences where a leader must forego his moral standard for a short duration during times of emergencies. In order to control a riot, shooting order need to be given. but such laws should be enforced keeping in mind that humans are not affected. At the same time, criminals should be presented in the court and necessary punishments given, not only to correct them but also to repent for the sins committed by them. hence, the qualities and deeds of a public official are accountable factors to be taken into consideration.

I end by saying that, ethical and moral standards are essential factors to be a great leader. Like the doctors taking an oath before starting their practice, it is highly recommended for public officials, as their task is not restricted to an individual but a society. leaders should be looked upon as role models and not as persons who are prone to criticisms. there should not be any kind of compromise when it comes to serving the nation selflessly.