The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation,not competition

I agree to an extent with the prompt. Yes, most fields in today's world need people to work together, but in others they do not.. In fields like science, the problems have gotten so expansive that cooperation is the only way to solve its problems. Likewise goverance would be impossible if members did not work together. However in other fields, competition is more important than cooperation.

The problem in today's world has gotten bigger than most indivduals. Most problems have gotten so interdisplinary that one person cannot have the knowledge to solve it alone. Take for example the Higgs-Boson theory; the idea that dark matter exists in the universe. For decades, the theory remained at theory, as one one could prove the existance of dark matter. However, the theory was proven not a lone sciencist, but a group of physists, chemist, and microbiologists. These scienists need to cooperate with each other in order to pool their collective knowledge to solve the theory. If these scienists where competiting with on another, the theory would be unsolved today.

Likewise, in the field of goverment, cooperation is the most nessicary tool for success. With over 500 members of congress, competition would be determential to the goals of these elected officals. If everyone was competing against each other for every resource, Congress would send most of its time arguing while nothing would get done.. This is why the Found Fathers set up government this way, the idea was cooperation and compermise. Even in today's partasn congress, nothing gets pass without cooperation. The the fiscial package sat long jammed in Congress as some members of congress did not want to comprise on several polices in the bill. However, a 25th hour change was made when other ruling party agreed to cooperate and some make the changes the minority wanted. If congress did not agree to cooperate, government would still be shut down and many services citizens neeed would be unaccessible.

However, in some fields, competition more important than cooperation. Business for example is fundementally cut-thoart. Your loss is someone else gain. Working together in some cases could even be determential as sharing secerts or knowledge could be used against you. For example, several Amercian green energy firms who cooperated with Chinese firms in 2011 found their trade secerts used against them after they were kicked out the the Chinese market.