ome people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

I don't necessarily agree with either statement in the prompt. While yes, a goal of politics should be used to pursue an ideal, and yes, a goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus neither of these should be the only goal of politics. Both statements should be one of many goals of politics.

Yes, politics is built ideals. The country does not elect a person or policies, it elects the ideals that the candidate represents. Take for example Barak Obama. What made him a consequential president was not his health policies, or his cool demeanor. Barak Obama was elected as a statement of what type of direction America wanted to move in. In eight year before his election, the country became more ethnically and religiously diverse, move inclusive, and more open. Obama represented hope, unity, and inclusiveness of all backgrounds, and many in the country wanted to bring these ideals to the highest seat of power. This holds true in lower positions of power as well. Many voters in the sound vote solidly Republican in state and local races, which in turn, embrace the ideals of God, guns, and lower taxes. While different candidates may differ on how these ideals are pursued, at the base of their thinking, these ideals are what guide them.

With this stated, a goal should also be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus. America, for example, is a country of 350 million people, 50 states, and limitless of differences between its people, no one expects their represenitives to agree with everyone else on Capitol Hill, and it was built this way by the Founding Fathers. 13 colonies, divided between slave and free, big and small, all needed to agree on what type of country they wanted to mold into. It was only after several years and a failed confederate style of government did they begin drafting a new constitution. No state or delegate to the constitutional convention got exactly what they wanted, and everyone had to forfeit polices they wanted. The northern states could not end slavery, but did end the overseas slave trade. The Southern states could not guarantee slavery in the new territories, but did secure the capitol in the south. In the end, good enough was passed instead of perfect, but the country was able thrive because of it.

Yet there are other aspects of politics that are also important, such as keeping the promises made to constituents. If a candidate is elected on promising a pony to every member of the community, and fails to deliver, the candidate can expect to be out of a job in the mid-terms. Dennis Kunischinsh, the former Mayor of Cleveland ran on the promise of "You ask for it, you got it" only to realize that once in power he couldn’t give anything to anyone as the city was on the brink of bankruptcy. He lost in the next election. Obama on the other hand could not close the Guantanamo Bay detention center and end the war in Afghanistan, while promising both. He did however pass healthcare reform and bail out the auto industry (as promised.) While he did not keep every promise of the election trail, he kept enough to keep people satisfied to stay in power for eight years.

In short, the goal of politics is many things.