The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Both competition and cooperation are essential skills for people to champion in the society. The relative ratio of the two skills required may vary for different roles and positions, but I believe for a leadership role in the government, industry or any other field, a sense of cooperation is more important than a sense of competition.

Needless to say, competition is important. Our population is approaching 7 billion, a number disproportionately greater than the resources and opportunities available. Had mother Earth have the ability to provide every being with an equal share of resources and opportunity, it is safe to say that competition is not important and that people should simply cooperate to prosper. However, this is clearly not the case. This is why we take admission tests, interviews, extracurricular competitions, so we can reach a higher ground with potentially more resources and opportunities at our disposal. Thus, it is indubitable that competition is what it takes for us to reach that leadership position.

At first glance, becoming a leader and being a successful leader may sound similar, but they are effectively two disparate phenomena. It has been proven too many times when a political or industrial leader win the election auspiciously to be appointed the president, only to let down the public’s expectations and be viewed nothing if not useless. The reason behind this discrepancy is that being a successful leader takes the skill of cooperation instead of simply competition. As evident by the famous Chinese proverb, "Three laypeople champions over one Zhu-ge Liang (a famous general of the three dynasties)", cooperation is the skill that wins battles.

Some may think this is cynical, but I believe people are innately competitive in nature; which is why people often get envious or strive harder. This is not the case for competition however, for competition is a wisdom learnt and passed on through thousands of years of experience by mankind. So the society should instil young people knowledge about cooperation, and can expect competition to come naturally as part of human nature.

In conclusion, cooperation and competition are both indispensable skills for leaders of any field. However, the society should instil a sense of cooperation to young people because cooperation is arguably a more effective asset for successful leaders and that competition is something that is innate and can be learnt without society's teaching.