“The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A sense of cooperation can go a long way in preparing young people for leadership roles than a competition.

Any government or industry is a well-oiled machine, consisting of many departments working together to produce a positive and successful outcome. A good leader should have a sense of cooperation to build a successful empire. Failing to do so will create infighting between departments and ultimately prevent an organization from achieving its goals. For example, during decision making, if different departments of government do not cooperate, the policy adopted by the government will do more harm than good. If Transport ministry while creating plans to build new highways or rail network, do not cooperate with environment ministry to understand the impact of these plans on the environment, it can surely solve the problem of the traffic congestions but at the same time create a new problem of pollution.

Moreover, work will be completed faster if there is good cooperation between different entities of an organization. We can again take the example of a government project. Projects will get approved faster by various departments if there are good communication and cooperation between different ministry.

However, healthy competition is good too. But, too much competition can have adverse effects on any organization. If an individual is busy competing with other than focus on completing a task, it can cause projects to miss the deadline and cause significant financial loss to an organization.

As all the departments of an organization work together towards a common goal of making an organization successful, teaching young people a sense of cooperation will prepare them in not only becoming a good leader but also a good team player.