The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The author of the argument makes several unjustified assumptions. The argument falls apart on careful analysis of these assumptions and the evidence provided by the author.

One of the assumption that argument makes is that the cell phone is the only factor contributing to sidewalk rage. There may be other factor like the condition of the sidewalk. If the sidewalks are not properly build and are broken at every few meters, the pedestrians might get frustarted causing them to take out their anger on the property and other pedestrian. Also, the argument does not provide any evidence for the claim that the cell phones are slowing down traffic.

Another assumption is that the cell phone ban has worked in Middletown as the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down. Just because reported incidents have gone down doesn't mean that crime has actually gone down. It's possible that the number of crimes is same as before the ban, it's just that they have not been reported. It's possible that because of the cell phone ban, pedestrians did not have access to cell phone when the crime happened and thus might not have reported the incident later.

Argument also assumes that Centerville is same as Middletown, and that the law which worked in middletown will also work in Centerville. There may be different factors other than the cell phone for sidewalk rage in Centerville, and thus banning cell phone might not work.

The argument makes several assumptions, and analysis of these assumptions show that the argument is not logically sound. It would be a major mistake if Centerville adopt the law of banning the cell phone as it might not work.