All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Listening to employees can be more beneficial for the company than hiring some outside consultant who knows very little about a company's work culture.

Listening to the needs of employees and making appropriate changes in day to day working of the company can increase satisfaction level of the employees which in turn can lead to happy work environment. Many recent studies have shown that happy work environment can lead to increase efficiency. Moreover, a happy workplace can help in retaining valuable employees and reduce the attrition rate. Reduced attrition rate can help companies to divert their resources and money from hiring new people to the core product of the company.

Different companies have different work culture and challenges based on the field in which they operate. Not all the outside consultants may be familiar to the field in which the company operates and thus may not be able to provide a good solution to increase the efficiency. Also, it would be a long process as the outside consultant may take time to get adjusted to a company's culture.

Outside consultant may be useful in certain situation where a highly specialized skillset is required to solve a problem and people with a such a skillset are not available in a companies workforce. However, such instances are very rare and thus listening to employees is a far better option to improve efficiency.

A happy workplace has many advantages and it can be achieved by listening more to employees needs and concerns.