The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in

which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and

explain how these examples shape your position.

From prehistoric ages through the 'Thakshila' in ancient India to the modern college education, the teaching and learning process have essentially contributed to the development of the mankind. there is no doubt that there is at least one good teacher who practiced effective and efficient ways of teaching, behind anyone who succeeded their lives in doing great things to the world. because of the same reason, many education specialists investigate on the better approaches of teaching. The stated recommendation suggests praising positive actions and ignoring negatives will be the best way of teaching.

To begin with, I would completely agree to the first part of the suggestion stating to praise positive actions. As human beings we like to continue and even involve more and more to the practices where we get good comments and appreciation. For example, it is a huge motivational factor when the teacher is reading a student's creative writing to the classroom and that simple action will allow him to a better work. Moreover, nothing can inspire a child to play a sport with spirited dedication than seeing his parents in the pavilion cheering at him. Precisely, the interpretation of 'praise' is not mere words of appreciation but any means of rewarding action that will motivate and encourage the positive action.

Contrasting to the statement, ignoring the negative actions, unacceptable practices will not be a better way of teaching in most of the situations. Conforming to the conventional educational practices, rewarding the good and penalizing the bad should be the best way of teaching. For instance, when teaching ethical aspects of writing assignments, reports, thesis or research paper if the educator came across a plagiarism by the student, ignoring it surely will not be the best way of teaching. Instead, any appropriate way of punitive action such as advising and letting redo the task would be an acceptable feedback. Hence, a relevant means of penalization for a negative action should be the reaction of the best teacher.

However, there can be some situations where ignoring negatives becomes the best approach. In the primary school we were taught to first raise the hand and take permission from the teacher if we wanted to ask a question. but, some students speak without raising hand or taking permission and which it is a negative trait that the teacher should have to dissuade essentially by ignoring the student. Furthermore, students making noises to gather attention towards himself is very common in primary classes. Sometimes it is best to ignore him rather than advising because any kind of reaction surely convey the student that he have won the teachers attention. Although ignoring become a better means of penalizing such negative activities, it qualifies until the act is harmless to other students or the classroom as whole.

Conclusively, it is a privilege to have a good teacher at every moment in the life from birth to death. The guru should be the person characterized by having the attitude of rewarding good or positive activities and penalizing negative ones.