The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum of the business manager stating that the reason for the reduction in advertising in late-night news program is the reduction of viewers of late-night news due to the minimization of allocated time for local news and weather. The viability of the recommendation to increse time for local news will be guranteed when the favoureble presence of following evidences.

The first evidence is finding out the propotion of viewers who gave the negative feedback. there may be a small set of late-night news viewers complaining about the coverage of weather and local news. Moreover, if there are large propotion of viewers who are indifferent with the devoted reduction in local news time the complains are seem to be less causal for the cancellation of advertisements. On the other hand if it reveals that a large number of viewers are complaining about the local news, the issue should be immediately addressed and it may cause for a decline of viewers to the news program.

Next, the complaints should be investgated to identify the context and possible reasons for them. Probably, they may not saying about the reduction of weather broadcast, but empercising about the quality of the news. if so, the reason may be the defficiencies of the news team rather than the time of broadcasting. However the reduction of the time allocated for local news will result in deterioration of the quality of news. therefore it should be properly adderessed the existing issue. if the reduction of time has caused low quality news and therefore time should be increaset in order to reduce the complains.

However the main evidence should be the reason for the reduction of advertisements. In fact, it may not be a defficiency with in the company but might be the appearence of new tv station which is more popular within the region. they may be broadcasting a popular tv series or some other thing and many people may have attracted to it in the parallel time of late-night news. therefore the external evidences should be investigated.