The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Families are considered as a small society where children learn what are acceptable and unacceptable behaviors in society and grow their personality. So, what do you think is the best way to raise our children and help them to differentiate bad from the good? One of the essential phases of growing children is how we should react to their actions? Whether we should have the same reaction to their positive and negative behaviors or treat them differently. Insightfully answering the question of whether parents should have different reactions to their children’s positive and negative attitudes can provoke potential controversies owing to the variety of factors contributing to the formation of a multidimensional viewpoint involving careful analysis. There are three major viewpoints on this problem, while some people believe that we should not react differently to one’s positive and negative actions, and instead we should let them discover what are good and bad behaviors themselves, others believe that in teaching it is critical to teach them what are acceptable and unacceptable behaviors with having different reactions; in fact, from my vantage point, the latter carries more weight. However, one of the recommendations which I partially agree with is that when teaching someone, we should praise positive and ignore negative actions. In my point of view, Children should be rewarded when they perform well; however, they should not be ignored otherwise. I elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, one cogent reason corroborating my deduction is that in teaching, it is critical to encourage positive behaviors. Being praised feels good, and throughout history, human beings have been seeking ways that make others praise them. Therefore, children would repeat actions and behaviors which help them to be admired. For instance, once my aunt admired and praised her son’s positive behavior, which was sharing his snacks with his friends, by taking him to his favorite zoo, as a result of which, he shared his snacks and foods with his friends to be awarded. Then when he grew up, this positive action was part of his personality. However, there are different ways of awarding kids, such as buying them stuff they like, taking them to their favorite places, saying nice words, and so forth. Ergo, by having positive reactions when children perform well, we can encourage them to repeat this behavior and make this positive action part of their personalities.

Another compelling reason deserving some words here is that as expressing deep admiration is important, children should be discouraged from their negative actions. When children’s negative behavior is ignored, they would not realize their negative actions, and they would likely repeat this again and again until it becomes part of their personality. By punishing children due to their negative actions, we would prevent them from having these behaviors as a part of their personalities. There are different ways to punish and discourage children, such as blaming, taking away their favorite stuff, banning them from doing their favorite activities, explaining what is the problem with their behavior, and so on. Thus, discouragement is a core part of teaching.

On the other hand, some people and psychologists argue that punishing children for their negative behaviors is not substantial, and ignoring such behaviors is enough. Ignoring can have the same impact on children, and after some time, ignored behaviors would be diminished. According to the supporters of this view, punishments can lead to mistrust. Hence, sometimes, punishing children can have reverse results form what is expected. For instance, imagine if a mother imposes maximum punishment when his son’s play with fire, he not only would not stop playing with fire but also he would play with fire more and more in order to fight with his mothers’ harsh reactions.

All in all, if the above discussion is contemplated, it can be concluded that when teaching people, especially children, it is vital to show what are positive and negative actions. We should react to children’s behaviors to help them realize what will be the consequences of their behaviors in society.