The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Self-confidence plays a bigger role than one can imagine in reaching new heights of success. It is important for the people around to praise every positive step taken by the person in order to boost his/her self-esteem as it is essential for one to believe in their own ambitions before they try to convince others of it. However, neglecting the negative actions while doing so will probably do more harm than only lauding the positive actions do.

Consider a scenario where a tennis coach is mentoring his/her student for a tournament coming up. It is critical that the coach shows he/she confidence in the student’s capability. The coach could show it by praising every good serve, every good smash that his/her student takes. It will indeed encourage the student to display the same momentum in the actual tournament. While cheering the students on for their good moves, the coach with equal care, should point out their mistakes during practice. One cannot risk committing the same mistakes in the tournament. The coach should be fully aware of how costly it is to repeat mistakes which will not only lose the trophy. The student’s self-confidence could take a big hit. For all we know, he/she might decide that tennis is not her sport anymore.

Furthermore, assume the following situation in a corporate setting. Consider a manager managing a team of 15 people. Managing his resources is his job day in and day out. Yearly polls are conducted in the team to assess how the employees feel about working at the company. Now the manager may think by pointing mistakes of his team members, he will probably create a sense of general dissatisfaction in the team. He may speculate that that may lead to bad result about the company in the yearly polls. If the manager does not point out flaws in the work of his team members, it will affect the project results adversely. Consequently, the company will not be able to deliver its best to its customers. This will lead to revenue loss, pay cuts, decreased salaries for new hires to name just a few unfavorable results.

Parents are the first tutors for any kid before they step out into the real world. It is incumbent on parents to teach their kids to live by their morals and never deviate from them. Who better than parents will teach their kids to discern good and bad? Without being able to differentiate between ethical and unethical, the child will continue to do bad if not corrected immediately. To illustrate, imagine a mother taking her son to a park on a fine evening. There will be plenty of other kids in the same park. A small quarrel between her son and one other boy could blow up into a fist-fight unexpectedly. In the heat of the moment, her son might punch the boy. Needless to say, if the punch landed hard enough, the boy could be bleeding profusely. Now isn’t it the mother’s responsibility to correct her son’s mistake to make sure the same thing doesn’t happen the next day again? If she is blinded by her parental love and the kid is not told that it is wrong to punch someone else, he’ll continue to think that it is probably fine to hit people to get his way. We wouldn’t the child to grow into a bully in his school or worse, a mafia gangster later in his life, would we?

That being said, the best way to teach – whether as an educator, employer or parent – is not to simply praise the positive actions but also impartially address the negative ones and offer a counter action that can correct them.