Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing that action

The claim asserts that if the amount of good that results from an action is greater than the amount of bad then the action is correct and reasons this claim by stating that the morality of an action is based on the result of the action rather than on the intent of the person. In my opinion, the claim is partially agreeable but cannot be fully agreed upon. There are two reasons of disagreeing with the claim which i would like to illustrated further.

The intent of person whether good or bad does not influence the morality of action as the results of the action are important or worthier. What happens if a person murders a politician for the good of society? Is it that the action is still worthier or the intent of the person matters? In my thoughts, the intent of the person highly matters as if one commits a crime and the results of it at the end are fruitful or good but the intent was bad and this will further lead the society to deteriorate the condition of livelihood. As the person who commits crime would think that his action was correct as it resulted in the good to society and would not have any guilt of killing a politician. This is totally nuisance as to what is the law and police made for? If one complains about the politician, the case could have been look upon with all the rules and regulations to be followed but killing the politician is totally inscrutable and out of action. Therefore, every result of action is not more important than the intent of the person.

Actually, the intent of the person should be taken into more consideration. If the amount of good that results from action is greater than the amount of bad performing them then the action is morally correct as stated. To look back at the past, many great historically leaders fought till dead to protect their territory but at the end there were few who deliberately killed thousands of the civilians only to make the other side leader feel demoralised and to step back. Is this behaviour of killing innocent civilians right? No, it is not right? So, the amount of bad which they caused cannot be foreseen on the amount of good which they gained as the other side suffered great loss of human in order to protect their territory which was invaded by the cruel army.

In the conclusion, the claim needs further elabotration as to what kind of action are morally correct is it all kind of action even if it costs someone their lives or whether is it the normal causal actions. Therefore, nothing should be neglected every aspect of action should be taken into consideration be it the result or the intent of the actions.