The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editor of local newspaper in Masontown wrote in a letter that to decrease the money spent on municipal garbage disposal fees, the residents should be encouraged to recycle more and provides example of a neighbouring town that they passed a law to make the residents recycle paper and glass at home or the residents will need to pay a fine and this significantly decreased their disposal costs. So doing some advertisement to encourage the resident of Masontown would help them save money. The editor fails to provide reasonable evidences to support the claim and there are greater chances that the prediction results in totally opposite. In my opinion, the claim can be bolstered by providing the two evidences as described below.

Secondly, there are no evidences given of the number of residents of Masontown compared to Hayesworth. As the passing of law in Hayesworth decreased their disposal cost could only have been possible because the population there is scanty and contains more household than industries or factories whereas it is the opposite in Masontown. Hereby, the editor should clearly mention the area type of the towns as this would greatly affect the disposal rates as in a town the disposal are mostly household product but what if the town has industries or more corporate sectors then the disposal items would be totally different from the household disposal items and would advance the costs of disposal. Therefore, if justified with evidence this argument will become fully reliable to be implemented.

Lastly, the arguments presented by the editor are ill-founded and lacks major evidences and can be inferred that is totally dependent on assumptions. But if the editor is successful in providing the evidences of the disposal products and how similar the towns are to each other then the argument could be bolstered and hence be applied to reduce the disposal rates of garbage.