Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the present scenario, an increasing number of colleges are adopting an educational system that provides provision to do elective courses, that is, the students have the latitude to pursue the course they like from a set of courses. At this point, it is no wonder for a student to comptemplate on the merits and demerits of such a system. The prompt suggests that the Colleges and universities should stipulate the necessary courses for the students rather than students choosing their courses. However, I feel that providing students with elective courses is more beneficial for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is not easy for students to choose which major to pursue in the college. It is not uncommon for the entering students to ruminate on this months, if not, even years before they take a final decision. Students spend a quite a lot of time researching about different majors, talks to different people and discuss it with their peers. After choosing a major, they hope that they will enjoy learning every bit of it. However, since each major covers a braoder spectrum of subjects and topics, not of them can interest a student. This can be due to various reasons like - the topic is too complicated to understand, there is no much ciritical thinking in a ceratin topic, a subject does not have much practical application, etc. In such a scenario, it would be determintal for colleges to make it mandatory for students to pursue all the specified subjects. When the students are provided with electives, they have the freedom to choose those subjects that they are more interested in or choose those subjects they feel that are more relevant to the prevaling industry practices. Providing electives can instigate the students to pursue major more vivaciously as they are given what they have asked for. When the students are more engaged with the subjects, there is no doubt that the outcome would be better than if the students were not given electives. Therefore, providing electives helps the students engage better in the major they have choosen.

Secondly, providing electives can increase the capabilities of the students when they enter market. In the present world, applications requiring multi-disciplinary knowledge are increasing by leaps and bounds. Traditional course curriculums that contains courses related only to respective majors would not engender to produce engineers that have a holistic understanding of different fields. On the contrary, if the students are allowed to take electives from other majors, they will be congizant of how different fields can be melded to produce an outstanding product. For example, when I was pursuing graduation in civil engineering, I was allowed to choose a few subjects from Management Studies. The skills that I have learnt in those subjects help in managing my daily tasks adeptly which I would be able to do if I was not allowed to choose electives. Therefore, it is imperative in the current scenario to provide electives to the students.

However, some might argue that providing electives engenders confusion among students who are naive to choose what is good for them. This issue can be subjugated by providing counseling to the students.

To recapitulate, it is more beneficial for the Colleges and the Universities to provide electives as they can help increase student engagement in the academics and they also increase their efficiency in the job market by helping them acquire knowledge from different fields.