Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In college and university, students acquire higher degrees in their life and these two sectors are crucial for every student. So, the subjects and courses that would be taught is to be well organized and effective. But it shouldn’t be wise to specify all the required courses or to discredit elective courses at all. I strongly disagree with the view of the prompt.

First of all, students should possess the right to choose their subjects suit well with their plan. Students should select those subjects which are the most favorable to them. The subjects should not be specified strictly, because one student will feel curfewed if he finds that he has to read the courses that feel a burden to him. For instance, if a student likes science-related courses, he/she might take those courses as he/she will make a great outcome from it. But if he/she finds that the courses that are specified are banal and burdensome, he/she might get depressed and that will create a great problem for that student near future.

Secondly, elective courses are the courses which are to be selected by the students’ own will. But if the elective courses are eliminated the students’ won’t have any choice to select his favorite subject or the subject in which he/she might be well versed. For example, if one student wants to select higher mathematics as an elective subject but he has no choice to do so, he will be drastically upset and might feel that he/she is being extremely restricted like in a jail. So, elective courses can also give a student freedom to learn at his/her own will. However, this practice can give students confidence and improve their intellectual ability to choose what is suitable for them.

Thirdly, clear guidance doesn’t mean restriction. In the name of guidance, if we restrict the courses or eliminate the elective ones, this will damage our future of the society and nation, because, our society and nation largely depends on the youths. If we can’t give them freedom to choose their courses which they find enthusiastic and plausible to them, they won’t be able to build their future as they want to.

In conclusion, neither courses should be restricted nor the elective ones should be eliminated. We should give freedom to the students to select their courses at their will while making some courses immutable for them in the curriculum. This process will help to guide them and give them the freedom to choose their favorite courses as well.