Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The claim on putting emphasis on picking worthy goals rather then just colloquely advising the young people to "follow their dreams" does entail merit.

The fledglings often naive, do not have any depictions of the real world and there dreams are solely driven by their close surrounding ---Parents, TV, Internet, neighbors-- The first thing a child sees and looks up to are their parents (very first role model in their lives) or are at best spellbound with movies and wants to be an actor/ become an astraunaut. It doesn't mean these are not viable options, however, the feasibility of the same needs some work and testing.

If the posterity were to start to blindly follow their dreams, our economy would go for a toss. One cannot imagine oneself to be CA or dreams to work in an IT firm, not denying they cannot be but the probability of that happening is quiet less, since, the young at that point wouldn't even understand what these terms mean, let alone work for/help solve one.

Guidance and course correction plays a key role in lives of the children. For example, a Superman fanboy wants to become a superhero , though not practical we can help the child put right thoughts about what a superhero really means-- helping the needed, champion the rights for the minority,humble -- are all traits that will help them become a real superhero.

Not denying that the advice "follow your dreams" does not has any merit at all. This brings in the children a sense of independence and freedom -- you can be whatever you want to, do anything once you start working towards it -- As once rightly said "if you working on something you love and are passionate about, you wouldn't be working but playing around all your life". Sense of responsibility is instilled.

With that said, there always are various directions you would want to take to help the children prosper in there lives but a general idea is to guide them through their journey, correcting there course along the way.