Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Cities plays a major role as they represent the State to the world. So it is important that we take care of the cities. Maintaining the cities is not a free factor, so i mostly agree that financial support must be provided for them to thrive.

As being a major city influences many kinds of people to come and visit the places around them, tourism can be implemented. With proper allocating of finance, we can preserve the old monuments, buildings, temples, lakes which show our culture and history. Money invested in tourism will return as profit to the city. Mainly this promotes our city and history.

Metropolitan cities are called major cities as their infrastructure is awesome and connectivity to other cities is well established. Hence, proper road facilities are important. Well structured city plan like garden and along with buildings also need to be taken care. As major cities invite many diverse cultures from rural areas, diversity need to be maintained. Like in India, it as Temples for Hindus, Mosques for Muslims, Gurudhwara for Sikhs and many more. This will spread positiveness across all the people.

Rural areas do need the financial support for primary purposes.

Thus majors need lots of financial support in order to maintain diversity, tourism and foreign relations. But at the same time rural areas are also need to be taken care for the primary things like food, health and shelter.