Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In this rapidly growing world, fine arts play an important role in shaping and expressing views on a perticular topic of interest. It helps the artist to showcase their reasoning on and support their stand in this crouded world. Thos prompt claims that, despite, many of the citizens are hungry and unemployed, the government is funding the arts. I partially disagree with this claim and withstand my reasoning with following examples.

Firstly, the claim states that 'significant number of citizen are hungry or do not have a sourse of income'. The claim does not explicitely mentiones about the number or the percentage of the population that is unemployed or hungry. Or on what basis they have calculated the vague term: significant number. If the exact number would have been mentioned it would completely change the game. If we assume that the maximum population was unemployed or were faceing difficulty to fulfil their needs the government would have taken some approperiate steps to solve the problem.

In addition to that, the method they found that the population is suffering from certion problems is not mentioned. If a survey was taken, then what percent of the population answered the survey. Or was that survey circulatied to the vast population with equality in their status of class(upper, middle, lower). And was the survey anwered with full guarrente of thruth. Beforn takeinng any steps further all these questions must be answered for the givernment to take any actions and to make changes in their funding policies.

Any kind of artform states its siginificance towards an idea of the artist to understand a diffrent perspective on a perticular topic, may ot be a political, social or economical. It plays an important role in expressing the views of the artist, without which it would just go unanswered or would lead someone in wrong direction. So if the givernment suspend funding, the artist would not be able to express their views and depect their idea of understanding.

A society being affected by poverty and hunger is not an ideal example to cherish with. So there should be a well balanced economic funding to sustain the growtn of the society.