Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is one of the most important factor which helps us to develop as a good human being. An illiterate person can be easily persuaded by a deceiver and it is almost impossible to live in today’s such a technology-driven modern lifestyle without literacy. Education can help us to cut poverty and illiteracy and it will bring enlightenment to a man. So, it is very important to choose a right path of education.<!--break-->

The school curricula are mainly based on various topics such as arts, science, social science, work education etc. This gives us a preliminary idea about different paths of education. As we move towards higher education our choices of education become further narrowed. When we move to higher school from preliminary school, we have to choose between science, commerce, arts etc. and we have to further choose a specialization in our graduation level. It may be very confusing for students to choose these specializations at the different level. They may feel a strong dilemma between various fields of study and ultimately end up with some random choice or a choice recommended by their parents. Very few students tend to listen to their heart about subject choice. So, a proper counseling right from the primary education level is much needed to help a student. The school may set up certain criteria or parameter based on their day to day academic performance and their ability to learn a subject. Based on this the school may propose some fields of study in which they are likely to excel and discourage students to take the wrong path. A wrong field of study can lead a student to a stage of depression in future. Nowadays suicide due to the pressure of academics has become a very common thing in higher educational institute. A student feels like a prisoner in a gas chamber in an academics only when the subjects don’t make any sense to him or doesn’t raise any interest in him.<!--break-->

Though this system may have certain drawbacks. It may be sometimes difficult to find a good advisor for students or sometimes they may fail to judge the potential of a student.<!--break-->

In conclusion, we can say that a goal of an educational institute is not only providing a quality teaching to a student as well as guide them to right direction. So, it is very much needed to counsel a student right from the beginning and make them feel that no subject is dwarf or has less scope. They must follow their passion and go ahead and it will obviously take them to a good position in one day. It is a very common belief among students as well as parents to run behind money and choose a field which provides a large monetary benefit. Though money is much needed in our daily life, it is not the ultimate goal of our life. Our goal must be to become a good human being and manifest the perfection which already exists in a man.