Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People learn things better from those at their own level-such as fellow students or co-workers-than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People learn certain things in many ways. Everyone has his own learning pace or learning style. Some people can learn quickly and some may need more time. Some people can learn a thing in very first try or in the very first lesson. Other may need lots of practice and repetitive demonstration. Though the learning ability of everyone is different from each other, I think learning from a higher level person such as a supervisor or teacher is much better.

A teacher has greater experience or skill in his field. They know certain technique that how to teach a new lesson to his student. Moreover, the teacher has already come across this learning phase from his teacher. So, he knows which is the better way of teaching and how one can easily understand certain topics. But a student’s fellow students are also learning first time as him. Therefore, the same level of peers may have not that much experience. For example, there was a Biology teacher in my high school. He had been teaching that subject for twenty years. He used to bring a live frog or some insect in class while teaching about it so that students can see its features practically. Sometimes, he also used to dissect those animals or insects in labs in order to show different organs. He also had working models of different organs like heart, lung which illustrate its function very well. He knows how to facilitate better understanding and most of the students in his class used to get a good grade. A peer may not have this much experience. Sometimes it also happens that a student has not understood one concept correctly and he may end up teaching a wrong concept to his fellow students.

However, in some cases learning from a fellow student may be helpful. One bright student may help his fellow students just before exam or in dorm with some hard concepts as teacher may not be available outside office hours. In certain cases, some teacher complicates a concept and it becomes hard to understand. In this situation, fellow student may become a bliss who can simplify it to layman’s understanding.

In conclusion, I can say that the very first learning must come from a teacher or supervisor as they have in-depth knowledge of a particular subject. Likewise, our parent teaches us the values or first lessons after we born as they have already faced different phases of their life. But, in certain cases, a fellow student or a co-worker can make an already taught concept more clear. We can tell that a teacher helps us to learn a lesson first and then our peers may help us to get a strong grip on it.