Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the deterring of students from chasing academic disciplines with small chances to succeed should be the university responsibility.

Although the universities first and foremost goal is regarding the student' success, they also are designed to unleash the young undergraduate's untapped potential. Educational institutions are responsible to nurture the growth of their learners and provide general education as well as high standard knowledge in particular fields.

Without a doubt, is the dream of every school at any level that its students to become outstanding and brilliant in the field they choose. Nevertheless, in many cases, universities are not fully able to discover the true potential of the newcomers in some cases due to the fact they are very young and still on the search of their own personality. Moreover, it is largely recognized the fact that one may find the biggest passion and true path to success while studying a secondary area.

At this stage, it should be pointed out the definition of success can be different for each of us. If one understands his success through the level of wealth and comfort or by achieving a high social position then the field of study would become less important. On the same path but in the slight disparate direction it is known that when it comes to the less fortunate categories of people, younger are bound to take care of the financial stability of their families. While the might be not so brilliant in the field, they can perform well at the job and be happy with their choice.

Last but not least, keeping the students on the safe, narrow road of chosen area, which can offer them the greatest probability of success, will definitely void in their mind any courage to try anything they think are not good at. Upon this ground, it has been undoubtedly proved that errors and failures are one of the vital parts in personal development.

However, the above arguments do not constitute sufficient support to claim that the universities should leave the student future success to be met through lucky serendipity. From the educational point of view, having exceptional students in a certain field brings them a desired high rank among other universities.

Having considered both parts of the argument, it should be concluded that the best approach for a university would be to pilot their students guiding them to discover how to link their studies with their meaning of success.