Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue states that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I am not completely convinced with this statement. There are pros and cons of implementing this idea.

From annual report card of individual students, institutes can analyze data and give a feedback on the individual student’s strong points and weak points. Based on which students will be able to identify their strong and weak subjects. This is very much beneficial to know one’s strong and weak subject areas. But they should be given chance to improve score in upcoming examinations. In childhood it is very difficult to say that which field of study is destined for which individual. So primary and upperprimary education system should not be authorized to judge a children’s future fields of study. Children become interested in every field including sports. So it will be hard to judge his future fields of study based on his interest. On the contrary high schools can foresee a individual student’s future fields of study. Because in this age students become more weighted towards a particular field and tend to get success in that field of study. Most of the students start to think about their fields of study from this age. So at this time it is a responsibility for educational institutions to council their students about their fields of study. But most of the time educational institutes judge students based on their marks in a particular subject. This is a malpractice, because many other factors can reduce marks in the subject other than the student’s interest in that subject. So high schools should consider the marks of the subjects for 6-8 years and analysis that data based on some software and then give the conclusion about the success rate of individual student in pursuing a particular fields of study.