Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions should inform their students about the relationship between certain fields of study and the associated career earnings. At the same time, educational institutions should inform students of the non-monetary value of different career paths, and their associated fields of study. Earning potential is only one dimension of what constitutes a fulfilling career. Therefore, schools would be foolish to actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

A functioning economy with a productive and engaged workforce requires jobs that are generally not lucrative. Journalist and nurses, are just two examples among a myriad of jobs that add incredible value to society, but do not necessarily pay the most. It was journalists that broke the Watergate Scandal, informed society that the average life-span of a NFL player is a meager 56 years and disseminated research showing that repeated concussions are likely to blame, and that exposed presidential candidate Donald Trump’s vulgar attitude towards women through capturing and releasing a video recording from 2005. In each case, and in many more instances, journalist have been instrumental in informing the public on major societal issues. Nurses, similarly, do not typically have lucrative careers, yet society would be non-functional without them. The school nurse diagnoses and cares for a child with the flu. A scrub nurse, ensures that all of the surgeons instruments are sterilized and organized so that the operation can be effective, efficient, and without complications. The emergency room nurse can often determine when something insidious might be occurring in a patient through their education and attentiveness. In spite of their less than stellar salaries, nurses are absolutely critical to keeping a functioning society healthy, which is a prerequisite for being productive.

Some might argue that urging students to pursue a lucrative carrer only stands to benefit the students. Furthermore, that if a student studies for a field that will earn them a lot of money, they are ensuring a good return on investment for their education. The problem with this type of thinking is two fold: it will result in people in careers that they are not impassioned with and well suited for, and it if every student goes into finance, for example, then due to basic supply and demand, the earning potential of that postion will decreased.