Schools should do more to prepare students for the non academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The main purpose of education is to give children, teenagers, and young adults, the tools necessary to develop into fully functioning, independent adults. Mistaking purely academic pursuits as the only worthy form of education in forming boys into men, and girls into women, represents a major lack of judgement and values, and furthermore, fails to take a wholistic view of the problem. Without a doubt, schools should do more than they are presently to prepare their students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Many “adults” graduate from high school or college without a clue on how to function and survive in the adult world. Because many young adults live with their parents until the age of 18, they lack first hand experience with many critical skills. This ineptitude could include the ability to cook pasta, balance a check book, make a budget, file your taxes, understanding how credit cards work. Furthermore, there could be residual bad habits that were taught to them by their parents, for which the child has never been exposed to any other way. Poor dental hygiene habits, could be passed from parent to child, with the child — read ill-adept future adult — being none the wiser. For this reason alone, it is critical that schools provided the much needed safety net to ensure the well being of future adults.

This type of education — teaching of critical “life skills” — is not that far outside the scope of what is currently taught in high school. Many high schools are mandated to provide physical education by the state. Likewise, a plurality of schools provide shop class— which has inspired many future carpenters, mechanics and plumbers to pursue the trades, and on the other end, sexual education — which has played a part in mitigating sexually transmitted diseases among teens, and reducing teenage pregnancy. Moreover, one could argue that these aforementioned “life skills” have a synergistic effect with academic pursuits. Shop class engages a different part of the brain, building visual-spacial competence for potential future engineers, sexual eduction, in preventing teen pregnancy graduates more students.

Graduating component adults should be absolutely paramount to every academic institution. Although non-academic pursuits might supplant their academic counterparts, striking a balance between the two will ensure that our society has adults that can draft a proper email to their boss, enjoy Shakespeare, fix their car, and balance their check book.