If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would notbe advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the majority of cases, it makes perfect sense to hire the more experienced candidate among two with equal qualifications. For sake of clarity, let us assume that qualifications are defined as items that are listed on someones resume. Item’s that are difficult to convey in this format, such as energy, drive, willingness to take a lower salary, and to work longer hours, serve to differentiate the candidate with less experience. The qualities, if identified, would play into a cogent argument for hiring the candidate with less experience.

Experience is a key, and therefore valuable, asset in the workplace and government alike. In product development within the medical device industry, a project manager with experience knows the ramifications of applying to the FDA for a 510k premarket approval, and can henceforth factor that into their schedule. Furthermore, the experienced project manager knows that the FDA will likely return the submission right at the 90-day limit, with out fail. And often times their decision will be a request for clarification on a certain aspect of the submission. Granted a novice project manager might learn this from others, but it is the experienced project manager that knows to have a list of suspected questions from the FDA and canned responses, so an amended submission can be submitted immediately. The key here is that experience in a particular field, in a particular industry, with a particular task affords mastery and pattern recognition. These two assets allow the more experienced of the two candidates to truly excel, whereas the less experienced candidate might flounder.

The virtues of exposure through time on the job also pays dividends in public office. Consider, the two candidate running for President: Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. One has deep experience with foreign policy, as she was Secretary of State. Furthermore, Hillary was first lady to Bill Clinton. There has probably been no other person running for President in the History of the United States that has had more exposure and first hand experience to what it means to be President than Mrs. Clinton. On the other hand, Donald Trump’s experience is in the arena of Real Estate Development. Despite Donald’s supreme confidence, he has no formal experience with the reins of governance. The utter disparity between the governmental acumen, knowledge, and wisdom of Hillary and Donald is so readily apparent that any reasonable, well informed citizen of the United States can tell. This factor will no doubt play a large part in Hilary winning the election, despite her strong disapproval ratings.

In some cases, it perhaps makes sense to hire the less experienced person. The less experienced person, knowing they are such, may be inclined to prove their worth — putting in the extra hours, taking on additional tasks. Consider a recent college graduate, that is applying for a software sales job. If said applicant knows that he is competing against another applicant with an identical education background but 2 years of work experience, he might be willing to take a pay cut. For small business, hiring the less experienced person, and thereby trading off efficiency and effectiveness for affordability, may make financial sense. After all, the less experienced person will eventually become an experienced person.