People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Rules are an essential part of any civilized group of people. Without the rules provided by government, nations would collapse. On a smaller scale, without the rules of a parent, a child would never develop into a functioning adult. However, just as important as it is to have rules, it is of equal importance for those subjected to them to question authority, albeit, in particular contexts. Namely, people should question authority when there is no obvious justification for the rules, or the rules affect individuals negatively.

The very genesis of the United States, and all of the freedoms we hold dear, can be traced to our forefathers that pushed back against the demands of the British government. As americans under Colonial rule, our ancestors were unjustifiably forced to pay taxes to England, despite receiving no voting rights, and thereby no say in what their taxes would be allocated too. In short, we suffered “taxation without representation.” Questioning the King regarding this policy resulted in no progress, producing a collective frustration that resulted in the Boston Tea Party: the first act of defiance that lead to our eventual relinquishment of British domain. Indeed, has the Americans of the 18th century not questioned British authority, our freedom as a people would have be delayed.

Outside of government, and inside the home, one might argue, it is best for children to follow the rules without question. One might ask, what is the point of justifying every rule to your child if they do not have the knowledge, wisdom, or capacity to understand the full scope of the parents intent? For those rules that have no affect on the child’s well being, but rather, afford his well being, it would be ideal if the child obeyed unquestionably. However, if I child is only ever told to brush his teeth, and not told why, that child will one day grow up and leave the authority of his household and decided to not brush his teeth. Consequently, it is possible that this now adult child will go about life only rarely brushing their teeth. This would result in cavities at best, a complete loss of teeth at worse. All of this could have been avoided if the parent had bothered to explain the reasoning behind demanding that their child brush their teeth. Had the child questioned the authority of his parents, and subsequently received an explanation, the child would have been far better off.

In summary, it behooves one to question authority in the event that rules are thrust upon one without justification or any semblance of reasoning. Otherwise, if the intent of rules are completely obvious, and cause no ill affect, then it is best to accept them passively. A functioning society or collection of civilized people requires both dissent and obedience in measure.