Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The meaningful, lasting, and admirable accomplishments in life, are often the product of long-term hard work and dedication. While actively seeking fame and recognition outright can sometimes garner financial success or popularity, the effects dim as fast as they were brought into existence. Therefore, young people should always be encouraged to pursue long-term success over fame and recognition in the near term.

Long-term, realistic goals are foundational to individual financial stability. Consider two individuals: Larry and Frank. Now, Larry is a long term thinker. When Larry took his first job after graduating from college, he decided to allocate 10 percent of his paycheck to his 401k. Although this was difficult for Larry, and he certainly had to make some sacrifices — he put off buying that Porsche 911 he really wanted for his 30th birthday — by the time he retired at the age of 57, he will have enough money in his 401k to live comfortably, spend time with his grand children, and travel the world with his wife. Frank, on the other hand, upon getting his first job out of school, decided that he could always contribute to his 401k later in life. He enjoyed putting that 10 percent chunk of his paycheck into new jeans, and shoes, and wrist watches. When Frank turned 30, he decided that he really did want that Porsche 911, so he bought it, although he really couldn’t afford it. Fast forward 40 years, and Frank is still working at he ripe old age of 70. This wouldn’t be an issue if he loved his job, but the reality is, he spent so much time and energy pursuing a failed acting career — trying to make it big, quick — that he never got the right work experience to get a secure job. No doubt, the two men in this parable have two lives that are demonstrably different: Larry was able to secure financial success and a stable life through pursuit of a long term goal, while Frank squandered his chances of living a happy adult life through poor financial decisions and myopic behavior.

Some may point out that success and fame can be achieved in the short term, and to much financial gain. In 2010, Rebecca Black became famous overnight with her hit single “Friday.” While this catchy tune hogged the airways and captured the imaginations of every tween wannabe pop-star, it was only a month before it completely fell of the charts. Furthermore, Rebecca Black became somewhat of a pop-culture mockery. It is unlikely that she will ever make another hit single, at least with the same recipe: all beat, high levels of autotune, and no artistic substance or commentary. Her short term thirst for fame failed to secure her a record contract, and therefore long term success.

In summary, children should be encourage to pursue long-term goals, because they yield better, more positive, more stable outcomes. While short term success can be tantalizing, it never lasts.