The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the rapid development of China recently, people are discussing about whether the prosperity can be attributed to China's leaders and how to measure their contributions. The author claims that how well a country's citizens live is the most important indicator for the leaders' effective performance in that country. I tend to agree with the statement.

The major reponsibility of a country's leaders is ensuring the citizens to live in a safe, positive environment with opportunities to grow and raise future generations. Without a suitable environment to live in, citizens could not ensure their lives to run as per normal, let alone the country's progress. For example, a few countries in south America such as Argentinant and Cuba suffered from tremendous currency depreciations in the past few decades. Within just a few days, the value of theirs currencies might crash by more than 30 or 50 percent compared to US dollars. People's properties were vaporized overnight. Thus, a country's leaders must provide a stable national environment for their people to sustain their normal livings.

The public wellfares including technology, education, culture and safety are key aspects to determine whether the leaders are performing their duties. Generouly, people tend to enjoy their lives more if they are able to spend more time or money on their personal affairs or recreations. For instance, China's presidents including the last one Hu Jintao and the current one Xi Jinpin, pay tons of attentions to the high-speed train development. Within less than two decades, China now is able to connect 80% of major cities via high-speed rails. It is so convenient and enjoyable for citizens in China to commute or travel. Thus, people in China praise the contributions maded by those presidents and claim that they have been doing effective jobs.

Admittedly, someone might counter the point by claiming that some countries might sacrifice the citizens' well-being in order to achieve strong national power. It is true that under certain conditions such as post-war circumstances, a nation's leaders would place priorities on those re-construction projects such as rebuilding dwellings and railways or spending funds in fostering new factories. In these cases, it's rather effective to judge the leader's contributions by how the nation recovers than simply to measure the public walfare since there is no much difference for citizens if the nation is still undergoing a severe damage.

To sum up, in certain periods a country's leaders might focus on the country's overall strength at the expense of the citizens' well-being, but generally public wellfares are the best measurement of a country's leaders in most circumstances.