The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leaders are the characters of the nation or any particular society that led the revolutionary movement or approach the most pressing scenario prevailing in the society. Working as main man and motivating all the people of the society to unite for the cause, leaders try to work on the dire situation of the hoi polloi. The given prompt claims the well-being of the society as the indicator of effectiveness of the leaders. In my opinion, the presented case may not always be true. So, I mostly disagree with the given prompt and suggest that leaders work for enhancing the situation of the people but does not necessarily guarantee the well beings. The below presented analysis will help to shed light on my thesis.

Firstly, leaders are there in the society and they first raise voice against the different discrimination that are deep-rooted such as cast system, religion, slavery etcetera. The main aim that leaders carry is to free the people from any kind of domination and restriction. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi, a pioneering person to carry out a different form of movement -nonviolence movement in India, lead the people to rail against the domineering British colony. After much effort to uproot the British effect in India, the movement became successful and eventually the people of India became free from the British peremptory. However, problems related to poverty, education and health are still epidemic in India. The given example illustrates that effective leadership does not always enhance the well beings of the citizens.

Secondly, measuring the effectiveness of the leader through the well-being of the country's citizen is no way a better approach as uplifting the low strata of the entire group of citizens in the single tenure of leader is daunting and almost impossible task. Those components that are hindering the well-being of the people such as low education quality and health services, low income etcetera are firmly established in the society .For example, Bill Clinton in his single tenure of presidency was able to uplift the economic level. His contribution in the American society is still revered by most of the people and Clinton is accepted as one of the prominent leader. Nevertheless, his contribution was not that much enough to raise the level of all citizens. This example shows that encompassing all the citizens is difficult and also the contribution given by the leader cannot be neglected.

However, leaders of the nations in their own field of specializations must think about how the well-being of the people can be augmented. For instance, political leaders are the people from whom the common people most expect. People give their important vote to the most deserving candidate so that the chosen leader would help to fulfill their basic needs. Moreover, people consider political leader as reliable and effective if the leader is solicitous about the exigent situation of the people and country.

In conclusion, mostly the contribution of the leader is measured in terms of how the people have enhanced their way of living by fulfilling basic needs. However, the impact of leaders always cannot be measured in terms of well-being. Sometimes the effect of the work done by the leader may be on small scale and sometimes work may be concerned on eradicating negative elements from the society which does not necessarily enhance the well-being and such contributions cannot be ignored.